“The truth will set you free. But first, it will piss you off.” – Gloria Steinem

Some honesty has certainly pissed me off lately. I often pride myself on being candid and straightforward and all “never choose someone’s feelings over honesty!” But I’m not a monster and even I know that there are just certain things you don’t say out loud. Like, “you are never going to fit in where you’re planning to move” or “haven’t you gained some weight?” or, and here’s the clincher, “I told you for months and months that she and I never did anything sexual but that wasn’t entirely true.” The first two are just rude, but are you kidding me with that last one?!?! Like it was my ex’s job today to make sure that last little kick in the teeth really knocked me on my ass. And it doesn’t even bother me for the reason you think (well, a little bit for the reason you think – I do straight up hate the girl.) It mostly bothers me because we’ve had an understanding for damn near a year now where we spare each other these sorts of details and pretend it doesn’t happen. I HATE this particular system because I like to put things on the table so everyone can just get over it. Yet I’ve been withholding specifics out of respect. Apparently all bets were off today when he dropped a few bombs such as the aforementioned. I could have responded with a gamut of equally devastating facts and figures, but I didn’t. I still fucking didn’t. Am I too much of a lady to reveal such particulars? Nah, probably not. Am I too nice? That can’t be it. Please don’t tell me that I’m still in love with him, because my mother will have a heart attack.

You can tell me that I’ll never fit in. You can point out my extra pounds. But the details of a past lover’s sex life I can more than do without.